Transitions Open House – Sept 5, 2018

Transition Sooke is going through a transition of its own. Jeff Bateman, our president these last nearly five years, is stepping down to focus on his bid for a seat on Sooke council in the October election. Best wishes to Jeff in the months ahead, and our warm thanks for his dedicated service since he first joined our board in 2011.

Past-president Michael Tacon and fellow board member Bernie Klassen will be taking over the reins until our next Annual General Meeting early in 2019. They’ll be leading our current team of Paivi Abernathy, Martin Bissig, David Hannis, Stephen Hindrichs, Paula Johanson, Wynne LeComte, Wendy O’Connor and Jo Phillips.

As we move into this new chapter, we’re seeking fresh energy, interest and engagement from our supporters. To that end, we’re pleased to invite you to a TS open house on Wednesday, September 5 from 7 to 9 p.m. at Harbourside Cohousing, 6684 Horne Rd. 

We sincerely would appreciate getting to know you better in a social context in Harbourside’s lovely common room. Bring your ideas and enthusiasm. Coffee, tea and treats will be served. Promise: No obligations! You won’t be press-ganged into volunteer service.  Screenshot 2018-08-29 19.10.38.png

(image: alternative logo designed for us in 2014 by the late East Sooke artist Kay Lovett)


Transition Sooke is dedicated to a spectrum of what we believe are critical local concerns. These include:

* Smart Growth civic planning

* Local jobs and the local economy

* Waste reduction, recycling and reuse

* Green energy

* Transportation and public transit

* Reskilling education

* Permaculture and food security

* Social issues

* Compassionate communications

* Ecohomes and alternative housing

* Much else!

We’re a relaxed, friendly, consensus-based group operating as a big-tent society that welcomes, supports and facilitates individual and working group initiatives that align with our values and those of the international Transition Town movement.

TS was officially recognized by the Transition Network in 2010 after foundational work by residents John Boquist, Margaret Critchlow, Andrew Moore and Michael Tacon. Our first public gathering was held at the T’Sou-ke Nation solar facility on June 23, 2010, and we’ve been busy on a wide variety of fronts ever since.

Learn more about our working groups and history online at  If you’ve questions or wish to confirm that you’ll be attending , please email us at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s